Ragnar #3 in the Books!

img_20170410_092831.jpgI probably should have trained for this Ragnar.  I knew it was coming, I knew the legs I would have to run, and I knew I was going to have some fun.  What I didn’t know is that during my first leg of my run (12.2 miles) that I would actually kind of enjoy the cruising along at a 11-12 min mile pace just looking around at an area of Orange County that I had never been to before.  I didn’t really enjoy the headwind though in the wash that we were running down that was causing my HR to peak around 177 BPM.   As much as I enjoyed it though I could feel some of the runners knee acting up.  I did my best with the recovery by stretching and massaging the IT band area.   I made the best of it and it was great being in the van with 3 other strangers I didn’t know till the day before.  It was the 2 women of the van though that saw major breakthroughs within themselves which was really what these things are all about.

Ragnar like most endurance sports is about finding your limits and then seeing if you can break past them and expand them.   It’s about expanding that comfort zone and finding out that you truly are capable of more than you give yourself credit for.  For me it was finding that deep down inside I missed running.  I found that it was time to get back to training.  Even though I’m fundraising for Smile Train to go to Kona there is still the thought that I might not be able to make the fundraising and I might not be able to get to Kona but I’ll have to find another Ironman and see where I end up, but it’s time for me to get to training and get out on the trails a bit more.

One thought on “Ragnar #3 in the Books!”

Leave a Reply

