Ironman Arizona: It’s About Them

Catching up with my blogging before I move to a video blog.   My Ironman Arizona wasn’t about racing, it was about supporting others and being there for my friends.   I had athletes there racing and several friends from Facebook, Team Challenge, and TCSD all out there doing their first Ironman.   I was there on the course for them.  I made it a point to always make sure that if I saw them I was cheering for them.   Hell, even when I couldn’t see them I was always cheering for them or thinking of them with each stroke, peddle, and footstep forward.

My swim was 1:16 minutes.   I knew my swim was going to be slow because I haven’t been swimming.   I think my total swim training was 6 hours if you include Ironman Wisconsin and Ironman Arizona 70.3.

My bike was 6 hours, but I also got off several times to talk to the volunteers and use the bathroom.   I legitimately took it easy and I felt awesome!   There was some winds but nothing like my first year which made it a bit more enjoyable.

My Run was an absolute walk, but I knew it was going to be this way.   I was having some nagging knee issues and with me doing Kona next year I didn’t need to damage anything beyond repair.   I was cheering everyone on that I saw and having some wonderful conversations with people that I had never met before.  On the 2nd lap I ran into fellow Base Team member Kris and we pretty much chit chatted the rest of the way and got each other through it.

This race wasn’t about being fast or performance, it was about being selfless.  I was able to watch those first timers become Ironman’s and discover that it’s not always about racing.

 

Leave a Reply

