It Happened at Mile 53…. Crash

Ironman Arizona 70.3 is in the book and I fundraised for Team Challenge, which provides funding for Crohn’s and Colitis.   When you are out there racing for a cause it brings something special to what would be another day.  I thought about writing up a race report, but quite frankly I’m tired of writing them.  They seem to follow the same format, and for the most part they have their place.  However this race, wasn’t about racing.  It was about bring a part of something greater.

The race didn’t go as planned, but I found inspiration where I least expected it.  As you can see from the picture something happened and that something was a bike crash.  I knew there would be one day that I’d have a bike crash, but you never really want it to happen. So anyways the Arizona 70.3 course was very technical with turns and with it being 3 loops it gets crowded.  I was on the last loop of the course and took a turn at over 20MPH which I’d done 2 times before.  The air pressure in my front tire wasn’t high enough from a slow leak and it couldn’t hold up… and down I went.   As I went down I kept saying “Please don’t let anyone hit me from behind”.   As my thoughts went answered and no one else was involved in the crash I was grateful.  It was bound to happen at some point where I would crash my bike, and I’m just glad it wasn’t serious either.  Just a couple of flesh wounds… lol.

I couldn’t help but to start with the negative self-talk.  I’ve always been one to say that you need to control the self-talk.  Self-talk is one of the only things that we have complete and total control over in any situation.  That self-talk can either inspire/motivate us, or it can deflate/demoralize us.  I got up and immediately started to question if I should even bother walking up to the aid station.  I started to talk myself out of racing and just say “I Quit”.  I ran through all the “if’s, what’s, reasons” that I could think of, all while I was walking up to the aid station.   Then I saw another Team Challenge kit go by and it reminded me of something I had heard the day before at our team breakfast.  The manager talked about how when we race and we cross the finish line, or race is done.  Yet for people with Crohn’s and Colitis their race is never done.   The part that really struck me was that their race is never done.  I was still walking forward towards the aid station and I that one moment turned the negative self-talk to a more positive tone.   I thought, that I’m still walking forward.  I’m still able to walk and I got 3 miles to ride into town.  If I could keep moving forward then how on earth could I tell someone who is battling any disease or any physically challenged person that I quit.   What would I tell the people who donated to my fundraising?   I was still able to move, I was bloody, but I could still walk forward.  My bike wasn’t broken and my helmet was intact.   My body didn’t want to quit, so why was I trying to talk myself into quitting?

I went on to finish the race bloody, bruised, and during that walk I remembered another thing that our team manager said during that breakfast.   She asked the team who inspires them to race.   Well on this day it was everyone who’s fighting Crohn’s and Colitis and all of my teammates both in San Diego and across the US.  I don’t know where my mind would have got me if I didn’t see that other Team Challenge kit ride by.

Leave a Reply

