Under 4 Weeks Till Oceanside 70.3

Well, it’s been 2 years since I last did this race.  I told myself I wasn’t going to do it again, yet here I am.  I don’t have the same feelings for the race that I did my first time around (I’ll read my race report later).  I know I can do it, there isn’t any doubt in myself about that.  I know the course, I know the people, and most of all I love the excitement and energy at the race.  I approached this race much differently than the first time.  I’m much more confident in myself.  I have no doubt in my mind that I’ll finish, and I’m looking to beat my 6:24:03 time as well.  I’ve trained a little bit differently, and my nutrition has been more dialed in then ever.  On race day back in 2014 I was about 245lbs and this morning I was 207 lbs at a 15% body fat.  I’ve been running easier than ever and I’ve been riding amazing.   I just got my bike MEP done and I’m burning primarily fat well around 190 watts.   I’m not doing any warmup Olympic distance triathlons and I haven’t done any OWS’ yet.  I’ll probably jump in the 19th for a nice swim from the shores.  We’ll see.

I’ve got the San Diego Half Marathon this Sunday, and I’m going to try and break that 2 hour mark.  I’m lighter, fasters, and I really want that qualification letter for the USA Half Marathon.  Even though I can’t race it, I want to know I qualified.   The previous 2 half marathons I casually ran them.  The first one I was cruising at nice 10:30 pace and felt great the entire time.  In fact I picked up the pace into the 9:30’s the last 3 miles.  It didn’t help that I rode a hard day the Saturday before that either.

On the weight loss side of life, I’ve been hovering around 205-210lbs which is pretty healthy.  I’m body fat % is still sitting pretty at 15% instead of the 10% that I’d like it to be.  I know why, I’ve been casual with some of my diet.  I’ve had the occasional dessert at dinner, or candy bar at the store.  I didn’t live and die by those macro numbers that I “KNOW” I should eat by to drop weight.   Am I angry about it?  No.  Should I be?  No!  The reason why I shouldn’t be angry about it is simple.   When I look back when I first started, I had a body fat % of 40, yes 40%!   I don’t let an of these numbers define who I am or what I can do.  Don’t you let those numbers define you either.  You are in charge of what defines you.  I let my actions define me, I let my accomplishments define me.  I am in charge of my life and who I am. When you say “I _____ ” you declare to yourself something.  If I say “I am in charge of my life and who I am.” I just declared to myself and everyone around me that I’m in charge, not them.

Leave a Reply

