2015 – A Look Back

It’s been a while since I last wrote and for good reason there has been a lot of things going on since I did Ironman Louisville.  Moved into a new apartment with the girlfriend, finished my IRONMAN Certified Coach certification, finished up my Advanced Nutrition Diploma, enrolled in my local community college for their nutrition program, and got signed up for my US Masters Swimming level 1 and 2 certifications.

What a year 2015 has been.  Back in January I had a general direction of the year I wanted to have and I knew there would be some choices that I had to make.  Some where easy, and some where hard, but I didn’t have any idea that I would end up where I am now.  I am ending the year as an IRONMAN Certified Coach, USMS ALTS (Adult Learn to Swim) Coach, and soon to be Holistic Health Coach.  Through my weight loss and life transformations of being a drinker to now I’ve inspired many people to take control of their own lives and that it’s possible.  I have a great girlfriend whom I love and we recently have our own place.   Now I didn’t have an exact plan for anything, but I had a nice general direction.

I lost a good friend this year Darryl and while we lost contact as I tried to get my life back on track and he was getting his life on track there I’ll always remember his laugh.  I regret losing contact with him, but sometimes things do happen and you can’t beat yourself up over them.  I had to get my life in order for me, and the important part is that each one of us is better for knowing each other.   As long as I can remember his laugh, he’ll always be around.  I also had the chance to visit my dads grave when I did Ironman Louisville and say some final thoughts to a man I didn’t really know, but felt that there was some closure to an unknown and unfinished chapter in my life.  Thankfully I don’t let things get me down, and I’m able to keep myself up and keep going.

When I look back though I can only see so many positive things that have happened to me, which has been a direct reflection of the positive things that I’ve tried to do for other people.  My mentality has always been “Lead by Example”, and so far it’s inspired more people then I could have ever imagined.  As I slowly start to build my coaching business both for health and wellness and endurance multisport the basis for everything I do is to stay positive and have faith in yourself both mentally and physically.   In the words of the late Greg Plitt “You only live once, but if you do it right, once is just enough!”

Leave a Reply

