What Would I Tell Myself Before This Started?

1936164_114439923273_7262832_n

That was me back in 2009 before making any type of lifestyle changes and on the party have fun train.  It was a friends birthday party in Las Vegas and it was fun and a memorable trip.   But this blog post isn’t about the trip or the party, it’s about the guy that you see in the picture.   As some of you guys know that currently I’ve helped mentor Rhonda from Living Instead of Existing into the world of triathlon and believing that she is an athlete .  I recently asked her what would she tell herself hears ago before starting her lifestyle change.   So it’s only fair that I answer that same question.

First I’d wait till after November 16th and this would be my speech/lecture (I’d view it as a lecture and get defensive about it).

”Chris, you are an Ironman (Yes that race you watched on TV years ago)   You’ve done it.  You’re something more though.  You’ve become an inspiration to many people.  Quitting the party/drinking every weekend lifestyle has opened your life to more than you thought possible.   It’s not going to be easy and you’ll lose some friends along the way.  Don’t worry though because those negative people will be replaced a hundred fold in people who help bring out the positive in you.   Be strong and be courageous cause it won’t be easy and you will doubt yourself.  The rewards will be worth it though.

In 5 years you’re going to lose over 170lbs not through surgery but through true lifestyle change.  You’re going to eat right, exercise, find that competitive spirit that you thought you lost back in High School, and you’re going to become a triathlete.  You will find it rewarding to help others out who have dreams but don’t think they are able to do it.   You’ve changed peoples lives for the better through your actions.   You lead by example, and those actions inspire others around you.  You’re going touch the lives of people around the nation that you’ve never met before.  You’re going to tell people that you believe in them and mean it.   You’re going to meet people who inspire you through their actions.   You have a wild crazy adventure ride coming up so buckle up.”

Yes, that is what I would say to myself.  I’m sure my old self would get defensive and rationalize every possible excuse to stay on that train track.   However now I can inspire and motivate him so that they aren’t excuses any longer.   On another note it’s actually really hard for me to look at that picture.  On the outside I was happy but on the inside I was wasting away.

Leave a Reply

