2 Weeks of Up’s and Down’s 100 Miles in 5 Hours and 1 DNF.

imageYes you’re reading that right 100 Miles in 5 hours of moving time.   I did stop to vent some frustrations with some of the drivers going around Fiesta Island.  That was my training highlight of the weekend training followed by a run from Del Mar to Carlsbad with the woman I’m dating.  Yes you’re reading that right I said I’m dating a woman but more on that in another blog post or maybe later in this one.  The downfall of the weekend of training was my DNF at TikiSwim.   I joined the San Diego YMCA and stopped my 24 Hour Fitness membership as well.   24 Hour Fitness just didn’t suit my needs anymore since I’m no longer a casual gym person.  The “Y” as everyone calls it has spin classes that work with my training schedule along with a Masters program that works with my training schedule as well, so it was a no brainer.

Thursday 9/25/2014 marked the “40th Anniversary of Triathlon” and Triathlon Club of San Diego along with the San Diego Track Club put on a race in it’s honor in it’s same format of “run > bike > swim > run”.   I took the day off from work cause I wanted to take part in this event.  I love being a part of great experiences and this one was amazing.  Got to race with some pro’s and some more triathlon icon’s. I can’t wait for the 50th!  I didn’t bring my Garmin with me and I wore a loaner chip however I don’t know my time yet since they haven’t been posted and really I don’t care.  The experience of Tri’ing with everyone was worth it.

So Saturday I told myself I wanted to hit the 100 Mile mark on Garmin so it could be “Official” and I circled around Fiesta Island more times than I could count.  I started around 6AM and little to no traffic with very little wind and the first 50 miles felt great…  Then the traffic picked up cause of an event on the far side of the island so I couldn’t get going too fast cause I just don’t trust the drivers around San Diego, they are clueless.  Then around mile 70 the winds started to pickup so the long part of the island had a headwind which brought me down to about 17 MPH but at the short side I got up to 28 MPH which was great.  I kept everything in Zone 2 with the occasional Z3’s then finally made the last lap to 100 and called it a day.   I learned 2 very valuable lessons that day.  One is that I can’t go off liquid only carbs because I can’t take them in as easy as some bonk breakers in my bento box.  I found that I just didn’t need grab them as much as I should have.

Sunday started out hectic and disappointed but ended on a good note.  I left for TikiSwim and there had been a fatality on the freeway which left me no time to get mentally prepared for the race.  I got there with 3 minutes to spare before the race started and grabbed my packet and grabbed an old pair of goggles cause I couldn’t find the other pair in my bag.   With no time to warm up just as I got to the beach the gun went off and out I swam.  The surf was rough with some huge sets coming in.  Some people panicked and I just kept swimming.  Had this not been a race with life guards I normally stop to WP_20140928_001help them out but they were going to be fine with the on course help.  However swimming out I was kicked in the face and a flow of water started to come into my left side of the goggles.  I thought just my goggles were knocked down so I adjusted them and started to swim only to have to stop 5 seconds later and empty them out.   That’s when I discovered that I could put my finger right through!  I was only at 1/4 mile when I just said this isn’t going to work and swam back to shore.   Could I have toughed it out and swam without goggles probably and my eyes would burn and pay dearly for it the next couple days.   I based my choice on the facts that this was a training race and not an A race.  Some people have called me a quitter for not toughing it out but those same people didn’t pay over $1000.00 an Ironman race too.   Either way I was more disappointed that I couldn’t finish. Went ahead with a point to point run from Del Mar to Carlsbad.  I had never done such a thing and I had my doubts about it.

Leave a Reply

