TriRock San Diego 2014–It’s Not Always About Winning.

WP_20140921_10_03_14_Pro

It was this race 1 year ago that I told myself that “If I train hard enough that I can win 1st place in Clydesdale.”  You can read about it here.  It was at that race that my sister asked if you could do portions of the race and if you could can she do the swim?  My friend Jojo promptly said yes and she would do the run.  That means that I would do the bike.  Going into this race I will admit that it felt a bit strange not  being the one doing the swimming for a relay since that’s what I usually do.   However this race wasn’t about me, it was about my kid sister who set out to achieve a goal and something that I could be a part of her doing.  Through my weight loss and race last year it sparked her interest in possibly doing something she might enjoy.

Jill was unsure of the distance and I told her we would do the intermediate distance which meant she had to swim 1500M in the San Diego Bay.   She was a water polo player and swimmer in high school as well.  Like her brother though she was a sprinter, so the longer constant swimming can be a bit taxing finding the right cruise control.   In the end though she finished in 53 minutes and she was proud of herself and proud of the accomplishment.   She was all smiles through the whole thing even at the end.   I’m proud of her.   My bike on the other hand I was very happy with.  I hammered out a 1:00:52 22 mile bike ride.  It was great to be out there testing out the new aero helmet and cheering on my friends while out there passing them.  Not in disrespect but in a positive way saying you can do this, you’re almost there.  Thanks to the ambulance that caused me to totally go over the 1 hr mark as well.  Jojo finished off the run strong.   No podium finish but we were all smiles.  My buddy Josh finally got out there and did his first ever triathlon as well.   Josh did the TriRock as part of my relay back in 2012 and did the bike portion.  It was great to see him out there doing the whole thing.

The best part though was cheering on my friends from the Tri Club and Team Challenge.  I honestly had more fun out there cheering for everyone then racing.   It was a good reminder to me that triathlon isn’t about winning.  It’s about the experience, it’s about watching people achieve something that they didn’t think they could do.

Leave a Reply

