What a Few Weeks–No AFC Race Report–3rd Overall at Oceanside Pier Swim

InstagramCapture_1d7290d6-7145-4418-8f3e-beaddd676a40

I decided against a race report for the AFC Half Marathon.  I hated the race and won’t ever do it again.  Since I don’t have any nice things to say about it, I’m not going to write negatively about it either.   With that said I’ve had one hell of a long training weekend.  As the mileage starts ramping up for IMAZ I’m finding more and more things that I’m able to accomplish.  It’s not easy and sometimes it’s painful but as they all say… it will be worth it.

This past Saturday was a planned 107 Mile ride from Mission Bay up to San Clemente but due to a late start and some breaks we turned around at the far end of Camp Pendleton which made it an 84 mile round trip bike ride with 2 friends of mine.   It was the first time we’ve all been able to ride together.  It’s always nice to train with friends even when you’re racing alone on the bike.  I only had 1 flat which was good cause any more than that and I’d be SOL.  We hit Torrey Pines around mile 71 which really helped suck the life out of me for the rest of the ride.  You really do start finding what you’re made out of while you’re out there on the road.  Then had a nice 1:30 hour run that Sunday.  Legs were tired and didn’t want to do anything.

This last Saturday I went on a 90 mile ride with plenty of hills from the start.  We left early to beat the head but I have to say when the sun is out full force it sucks.  It’s good training though and I’m getting used to realizing that I’ll sweat over a gallon of water and probably an entire salt container from a fast food place.   Nutrition and hydration will be my make it or break it part of IMAZ.  Had a 2 hour run planned for Sunday as well which went over well.  I’ll most likely be running a 10:30 pace for IMAZ which I can live with.

WP_20140901_11_45_12_Pro

Monday (Labor Day) was supposed to be a rest day but I did the 85th Annual Oceanside Pier Swim.  Just a 1 mile out and back around Oceanside Pier.  We recently had a hurricane sweep through to the south of CA which brought plenty of surf and we got a nice taste of it during the swim.  It’s always a challenge to swim in the open water but with 3-6 foot waves crashing on the way out and swell picking you up and dropping you only makes for more fun.   I finished in under 26 minutes which got me a 3rd place overall in the wetsuit division.

Leave a Reply

