Break Week 2–Foreign Territory

I’m going into week 2 of my break and it’s like the twilight zone.  It was a bit of a let down for me to have to scratch 2 weeks of training going into my ITU Chicago race at the end of the month, but it’s better to take it now and maybe a 3rd week if needed so that I don’t lose those weeks during my IMAZ training.  It’s a bit odd waking up in the morning and having to tell myself that I can’t go do a training run or ride.  So instead I tried pouring that bowl of cereal and reading the news… it’s boring!  After almost 2 years of some type of training I’ve come to realize that normal is pretty boring and you feel like you’re stuck in the same rat race every day.

Sunday I did the Beastmode Swim Series #1 with TCSD and Energy Lab Training… There was approximately 70 swimmers going from La Jolla Cove to Wind and Sea Beach.  It was a 2.5 mile open water swim.  It was funny going into this swim because the non-athletes immediately thought I was crazy and it’s considered a workout.  I didn’t put out any effort at all, and I could have swam another 2-3 miles at that pace no problem.  In fact I just might start doing it Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings.

Today I rode my old road bike into work today and let me tell you that after riding on a light tri-bike for so long it felt almost foreign to me.  I didn’t try for any speed records and it took me 1 whole hour to ride 15 miles… yikes!   Going to be an interesting time once IMAZ training kicks up but by then I’ll have my tri-bike back and won’t be riding the tank as I call it.  So most likely I’ll throw in a short run once I get home.  At this point I almost can’t wait to get back to training.

It’s no wonder American’s are becoming more obese.  What they consider normal is the same daily rat race routine.  I got home and again told myself not to go out and do some type of training routine since that’s what I was used to.   So I made some dinner and watched some TV… again.. boring!   I can’t wait to get back into the swing of things.

Leave a Reply

