Totally Tapped Out!

Well that’s a wrap and I was hoping that I wouldn’t get to this point.  But when you play with fire sometimes you get burned.  The last race really took a lot out of me and pushed me over that ledge of overtraining.   My body’s banged up and I’ve been mentally checked out.  With an average of 5 hours of sleep a night it finally came yesterday after what should have been a seemingly harmless fitness test at the FitStop.   It was only a 20 minute bike test that I didn’t even make 20 minutes on without my hamstrings and abductors not wanting to work.  Shortly after arriving at home I started to have a bowl of cereal and I all most feel asleep with my face in the bowl.  I couldn’t even finish the bowl of cereal, so I laid down in bed around 2:00 and woke up at 6PM.  Got up and hit my IMAZ training meeting at my coaches house and then once I got home I was asleep again by 9:30 and slept till almost 7AM.   I’m sitting here ready to fall asleep at my computer… ha ha ha.   So it’s time to take a rest before I start training for IMAZ.

I have a race in 3 weeks how is this going to set me back?  I asked myself that question all day today and I only have 1 answer.  It’s best to take a long break (2-weeks) from any intense workouts and take the hit at ITU Chicago and be 100% for IMAZ.  I certainly won’t podium at ITU or Life Time Tri: Minneapolis so I’ll race them at my training pace instead of race pace.  Training for IMAZ kicks off June 23rd the week of the race so even if I need to take that week off I won’t be far behind and I’m prepared to do so if needed.  How does this affect my NYC Triathlon race?  It won’t I’m hoping to be 100% by then and because of the location it will most likely be a lot of running.  I found out from my bike test that currently I’m just not efficient at burning fat for fuel either which really explains why I felt totally beat during my race.  I found that I’m burning approximately 11 calories a minute during exercise and only 3 calories of that is from fat.   That is NOT a good ratio which means I’ll burn through my approximately 2000 stored calories super fast.   So I’ll be doing a LOT of Zone 2 bike rides (YAY NO HILLS) and runs during my IMAZ training.

I’m still going to go out and help with the Beginners Open Water Swim (BOWS) group on Thursday since it’s not a workout and I am still going to head out into the water and do some swimming… LOTS of swimming.   Swimming, you might ask?   Swimming has always been easy for me and a way to escape and completely unplug from the digital chains of modern society.  Some people run and in all honesty I could probably go out and run an easy paced 5K or 10K but I prefer to swim. 

Leave a Reply

