Training isn’t SOO Exhausting Anymore.

WP_20140412_07_27_24_Pro (2)I’ve been running a lot more lately and I have to admit…  I am no longer exhausted after running 6-9 miles.  There was a time where even running 1 mile left me exhausted and I couldn’t even run the following day.  It’s taken me many months to get to where I am at and it just doesn’t happen over night.  I caught myself saying that I’m going to go run 6 miles after work… for fun!  WTF?  When did I start to believe that running wasn’t as bad as I thought it was?  When did this raw hatred for running turn into not hate but not love?

After the Bass Lake Triathlon I’ll be returning to the pool on Monday/Wednesday nights along with swimming La Jolla Cove Friday mornings.  I really killed myself with the swimming volume and it soaked a lot of the fun out of it so I’ve had to take a break.  The Friday morning cove swims have been awesome and I’ve only done 2.  I’m finding some of that enjoyment in swimming again as I get to look down at some of the wildlife and reflect on things during the week without having to worry about turning around every 25 yards.

The bike I’ve been doing a lot of power thresholds and intervals on the trainer according to my TriDot plan.  I’ve quickly found that my training for the bike has been lacking and I need to really put some focus on it so I don’t fry my legs on the run for the long course.  I’m actually a little excited about increasing the volume though for IMAZ.

Leave a Reply

