30 Days till Summer/Fall Racing, 15lbs of Fat to Lose.

As many people know already starting May 31st I have an Olympic distance triathlon every month with very little down time all the way through to my Ironman in November.  Making it through it all will be hard and mentally challenging.  I know it’s going to be hard, but at the same time it’s going to be exciting.  Isn’t that what life is about anyways?  Challenging ourselves, find our boundaries, push our limits?  Some people are content with their lives not knowing what they are truly capable of and what they can actually accomplish.  We always here that people are all the same and people are equal.  The truth is that we are not equal, we are all different.  Some people say that they can and some people say that they can’t, which one are you?

So 30 days from now I’ll be doing my first Olympic distance triathlon of the season up at Bass Lake.  The course looks stunning compared to the city scape that I usually race in, and of course there will be some altitude.  I’ll be racing Clydesdale for this race as my weight sits around 225-230 but that will depend on what my weight is come the 30th of May.  I signed up for this race on a whim after looking at the course as part of my “1 race per month” goal.  I am out to win Clydesdale as well that is my main goal for the race.   This is a test for the ITU race in June to see where I truly need to improve.  It will most likely still be my run, no surprise there.  It will be a freshwater lake with a hilly bike and a somewhat hilly run.  It’s just what I needed.  It’s also going to be a small triathlon so I’m not expecting the usual glitz and glamour of a race that I normally see.

Now I said summer racing in my title because I fly to Chicago at the end of June for the ITU Triathlon.  Then 2 weeks later I fly to Minneapolis for the Life Time Tri followed by the New York City Triathlon 3 weeks later in August.  First week of September will be the San Diego Triathlon Classic.  2 weeks after that I’ll do the swim portion of the Tri-Rock San Diego.  3 weeks later the San Diego Triathlon Challenge, then the following weekend the Oceanside Life Time Tri.  Then it’s 3 weeks till Ironman Arizona.   We live once and I said last year that it would be fun to go out and see what it’s like to be a travelling triathlete and race like you’re on a racing circuit, 2014 is that year.

Every single person that has done a triathlon of any length can tell you that at some point they have heard from someone that they are crazy.  I hear it on a weekly basis.  I can’t stop but to think that is it really crazy?  Is it crazy that I’m out doing what I set out to do?  Is it crazy that I’m not doing what society dictates what I should be doing?  In case your wondering society thinks that I should wake up every morning grab fast food breakfast on my way to work and then sit in my car in traffic while oogling over my latest technology gadget while on my way to happy hour to meet up with the guys before finally heading home and watching some TV before bed.   All so that I can wake up every day and live to work.  If people think that doing a triathlon is crazy then yes I’m crazy.  I know I’m the type of person who wants to find out how far they can go, where are my limits and do I even have boundaries?   Outside of physical limits the only thing that limits ourselves is our mind.

Oh this 15lbs of fat to lose… you are proving to be very difficult.  Yes I know my diet has been sketchy lately and I have no excuse for it.  Make no mistake you will vanish by the time my Ironman comes around.

Leave a Reply

