Why do I feel like Forrest Gump?

So I’ve commit to running at least a 5K everyday through the end of May.  Everyone knows that running just isn’t my strength and it’s a bad weakness in the sport of Triathlon.  So the way to get better at it is to increase the volume you run on a weekly basis.  Yes I know but it will only build your aerobic endurance and not your over all speed.  I know this but the speed will come, the speed will come.

When I first started running back in the good ole fat boy days it was all about trying to be fast.  I’d run well into my Z4 or Z5 until I couldn’t do it and then I’d have to walk to recover.  To translate what Z4 and Z5 is for people… it’s heart rate training zones.  I was basically flooring the gas pedal and then once the gas in the tank was gone I’d have to wait for it to fill up.  I did this and slowly watched my average mile times inch lower and lower with this run/walk technique.  I really didn’t have a concept of building my aerobic base.  I thought I was doing the right thing, but it didn’t really click till I ran the Rock N Roll San Diego Half Marathon back in June of 2013.  I found that if I kept my run consistent and my HR around 140-150 that I could run the entire thing.  For some reason though it didn’t really stick and I couldn’t really explain why that number seemed to work for me.  In fact I wrote a blog post about it here, and I go on to explain it a bit more but I didn’t really fully comprehend what was going on.  Well now I do and I’ve known it back from my test at The Fit Stop and now since I’m in a building phase for IMAZ I can really focus on it.   It’s a bit depressing to know that my Z2 pace is 10:30 according to the numbers but as my body becomes more efficient at burning fat for fuel and my body adapts the pace will get better.  Again I have to trust the training.

So then what got me away from that HR training if it clicked back then?  The answer is simple I got more concerned with the per mile pace instead of efficiency.  That’s been my biggest hurdle is worrying about those pace numbers.  As I have a training plan for my ITU Chicago race that has speed work in cause it’s an Olympic Distance I’m still increasing the volume as I build a big base for IMAZ.   Yeah I’m crazy but it’s going to be fun.  Now if only I can stick to the diet aspect.  I went overboard during the week off and I’ve been skipping some days last week.  Well that’s going to have to stop.  I have to drop 25lbs of fat still, but the increase in volume at my Z2 pace should assist with it.

Leave a Reply

