SEAL Sprint Race Report

I signed up for this race as a warm up race for Oceanside.  Something to get my feet wet into the excitement of a well known race in San Diego before heading into Oceanside.  The day before the race my coach had our final race simulation for Oceanside which I was not expecting.  Saturday started with a 1.3 mile ocean swim, 56 mile bike on the front side of the Oceanside course and then I just did a 4 mile run.  I reached my goals for the simulation and I can tell already if the sun is going to be out like it was on Saturday (83 degree’s and no clouds) then the run will be challenging just trying to keep cool.  I’ll have to adjust my salt tab intake accordingly.  Racing on tired legs, this should be fun.

Race Day:
I woke up at 5AM and I had everything from the day before still in my car so I didn’t have to spend much time loading things up.  Got down to the venue and had a pretty good feeling going into the race.  My legs felt good and not really totally wasted (I wonder now if I pushed it hard enough during training).  This was a small field of racers judging by the transition area but I’m ok with that.  I prefer smaller fields, just means less crowded on the course.  Got everything setup into what I think is a great transition setup.  Warmed up said hi to some of my fellow TCSD racers and started down towards the water.  This is a LONG run from the bay to T1 and I hate long runs like that.  I was in wave 2 which was Males 39+ with Clydesdale, Clydesdale Masters, and the relay people, this wave was HUGE!  Now this was my first beach entry start to a triathlon and I stuck to the right side.

Swim:
The horn goes off and it’s a mad dash to the water, at first I was a bit irritated with all the people it was crowded and everyone was swimming everywhere.  It was a good thing too so that I can use it as experience come Oceanside and IMAZ.  The swim was a bit rough as the sun was right in our faces where the buoy was to turn right so sighting was a bit hard.  Once out of the water there was a long run up to T1 where the timing mat was (this explains my 12 minute 500M swim).   Had a quick T1 considering I need to work on getting out of my wetsuit faster.

Bike:
Been working on my bike mount so that I don’t have to completely stop and I nailed it this time and was able to maintain a 21.6 MPH average on the whole course.  It was flat and fast the way I like.  I could have pushed a bit harder but I didn’t want to kill my legs (I should have pushed it and gone all out).  I need to really get my head out of the whole go slower part of sprint triathlons.  My overall time was 34 minutes on the bike when it should have been closer to 30.  T2 went really well and I was out in no time.

Run:
The first almost 2 miles of this run is in the sand so I already hated it.  I ran 3.4 miles in about 28 minutes and averaged an 8:29 average which is by far one of my best performances.  Again though I kept looking at my Garmin and kept telling myself that I needed to go slower so that I could finish and not blow up.  I crossed the finish line not gassed and I felt that I didn’t go all out at all.  Looking back I was not happy with the race at all and it was all myself to blame.

Takeaways:
I need to really get my head out of going slow for sprint triathlons.  It’s a sprint, it’s all out or go home for me these days.  I need to realize that I’ve got potential and I need to stop viewing myself as the fat guy on the race course.

Leave a Reply

