Head is Back In the Game–Fine Tuning Errors

I have been spending basically the last week listening to motivation mantra’s and searching for things that can keep my head checked in.  It’s been working as well thank god.  I was beginning to feel like I was drifting away and not ever checking back in.

“You got to get up and say I want to be a champion and I’ll do whatever it takes.  Visualization, looking at motivational quotes, whatever it takes” – Arnold Schwarzenegger

I think part of the problem was that when I first signed up to do the Oceanside 70.3 I set out with a goal of “Just to Finish.”  Back in June when I signed up it seemed like an almost impossible feat.  I had just made the choice to do triathlon in a more competitive nature and not just do triathlon to finish but to actually place in the top 10 and top 5 of all the races I do.  As training progressed through the months and I’ve improved I came to the realization that yes, I am going to finish.  I think I became satisfied with the main goal of just being able to finish a 70.3 is what has caused my mind to drift.  My mindset has returned to training like a champion and doing whatever it’s going to take.

This past Saturday my Oceanside Training Group had a little race simulation.  I looked at the night before and everything just as I would the race.  Nutrition has always been a weakness of mine for my size and thankfully my coach had a little class on this with tips and how to work everything out.  I came up with a very solid plan and she approved of it.  I got my bike prepped and all my gear and stuff all set to go so in the morning I was all set to go.  Woke up and got everything in my bag ready to go except I decided to go back to bed for another 30-45 minutes so I put my liquid nutrition back in the fridge.  Well I forgot to grab them back out of the fridge.   So I clearly have an issue with plan execution and it hurt me on the race simulation.  I had the solid calories but nothing liquid other than some Gatorade.  I was short of ohhhhh about 600 calories over bike ride to get me through my run.  See, I burn about 1000 calories an hour on the bike and your body can only absorb a certain amount at one time.  You don’t want too many solids jumbling around in your stomach during an endurance race because you’re going to have all your blood going every where BUT your stomach.   So anyways, outside of that I had a great race sim.  Need to work on running off the bike a bit more and execute my race plan.   I hit some goals like out of the water in under 30 minutes, keep my HR out of the water down on the bike to 140-150.

100 free in workoutTraining wise I’ve hit my fastest times to date this week… EVER!  Who knew a 240lbs man could run a 6:39 min/mile.  We did some 25 yards at the pool in masters and I hit a 14 second 25 yard.  I was hitting my 1:14 min/100 yards.  I’ve always been strong on the bike just not climbs and I’ve decided that I need to get back into climbs and hills.  Yes I could change out my gearing but if it’s hard now why make it easy the easy way.  Hard work and sweat baby.

Leave a Reply

