Diet Over The Holiday’s and Looking Ahead to 2014

We all know it’s coming, the holiday cookies, candy, and drinks, but the hardest part is controlling yourself.  You’ve worked so hard through the year to lose weight and keep it off and you don’t want to put it back on.  I can’t say I followed mine to a “T” this year around I did cut back on the usual items and played everything in moderation.  I was 2 weeks into my Half Ironman training but still wanted to enjoy the holidays as well.  My nutritionist won’t be too happy about it but the serious training starts now and I am thankful that I had a solid base level of fitness to improve upon.  So while I kept to my main diet plan I didn’t have seconds of anything on the menu’s and I kept my portions small.  I paid close attention to my macros as well.   Overall I’m sure I put on a few pounds but nothing that won’t shed off come next week.  It was a bit strange to watch everyone going back for more and I wasn’t but that’s just part of how it all goes.   For the most part though everyone was pretty accepting of the fact and yeah some people looked at me like I was nuts.  Well I am nuts, I signed up for an Ironman!

Looking forward to 2014!
Aside from races I have a lot to look forward to and I have a lot of goals lined up personally outside of racing.  So here are a list of my resolutions.

Non racing items.
1. Cut down to 10% body fat.
2. Find more time to date.
3. Complete 1 college course at Mesa College
4. Learn more things to do around San Diego that doesn’t require drinking
5. Listen to more audio books about non-fictional subjects.

Race wise there are a lot more items.
1. Goal time for my Half Ironman under 6 hours.
2. Top 3 finish in my Clydesdale races.
3. Qualify for USAT Nationals in my 35-39 Age Group.
4. Ride a Century before June.
5. Run a 13.1 in 2 hours.

Lofty goals but I feel that they can be achieved.   Here’s to an even better year in 2014.

Leave a Reply

