Preparing for Las Vegas 13.1

Closing out my race season with the Las Vegas Rock and Roll Half Marathon.  I signed up for this race back in January before I knew what this year was going to hold.  Last year I completed the course with a time of 03:07:47.  Right around mile 9 I was having severe cramping in my quads and had to walk the last 3-4 miles.  Inside this was a low point for me, I’d never been able to run an entire half marathon without cramping at mile 8 or 9.  I thought really hard about if I wanted to even keep doing these since I really did hate running.  So I told myself if I wanted to do it next year I need to sign up early and save a few bucks.  So here I am a few days away and a different person.  I’ve ran 2 half marathons this year, 4 sprint triathlons (1 swim relay), 1 Olympic triathlon, a few 5K’s, a swim race and a bike race.  The only triathlon without a podium finish was the ITU in April.  While I haven’t touched a podium in any running event and probably won’t, it’s just not a goal.

So what is my goal for this race?  Have fun and run 10 min miles.  My pace at Las Vegas last year was 14:20 per/mile. At San Diego in June was 12:08 pre/mile, and Utah Valley was 11:17 per/mile.  In just 6 months I’ve shaved 3 min’s off my mile.  During all that time I didn’t have any concept of running or mechanics, but now I’ve taken a quick clinic on running and improved quite a bit of my mechanics on running and was able to bring my 5K times down to 28:11 at 9:04 per/mile.  So that brings us to my 13.1 pace and what should I run.  I am setting a goal pace of 10 min miles.  Honestly if I stick to my 8:1 run/walk I might be able to hit 9:30 second miles but I’m not going to sweat 6 minutes.  I’ve had a race basically every weekend since September 22nd’s Tri Rock San Diego so I’m a little burned out but I still need to have some goals for the race.  I feel that 10 minute miles is a decent pace for me but my biggest challenge will be nutrition.  Staying hydrated and fueled have been a pretty big downfall for me.  I realized one thing from my Utah Valley Half though and that’s keep a water bottle with you that you can take sips from as well as use GU.  This year I’m adding saltsticks to my plan though.  Since I sweat so freaking much, even when it’s cold I think I need to keep these on hand.  I’m not too worried about carb loading since I have a lot of stored energy and I’ve been doing a lot of my running fasted so that I can get my body used to burning fat for fuel.  I have 1 solid Peak Finders training series on Thursday then it will be an easy run Friday morning and Saturday morning probably just a 5K.

Bring on Las Vegas!

Leave a Reply

