LifeTime Tri: Oceanside. Race Report

imageI originally signed up for this event because it was in Oceanside.  I figured since I signed up for the Oceanside 70.3 this would be a good intro course to get a feel for the course.  This was also my first split transition so I figured that if I was going to screw up and forget something this would be the perfect race to do it.  I wasn’t putting any pressure on me to get a podium finish.  I wanted to focus mainly on the run and some of the things I learned from the clinic the weekend before.  I also wanted to focus on the transitions and the area.  Little did I know I was going to take first place in Clydesdale again and I beat the 2nd place guy by a full 10 minutes.  I thought about dropping down to my age group of 35-39 and weeks leading up to the event I completely forgot I entered in Clydesdale.  My finishing time would put me 9th of 14 which isn’t bad.  It really just shows that I really have to improve my run.  I was 74/125 people with my run and 55/79 males with my run.  With my main goal of moving into the Age Group ranks and out of Clyde’s I need to get my runs down to 7 minute miles for more than 1 mile.  I don’t care if I’m over 220lbs and able to run 7-8 min miles I’ll drop down to the more competitive 35-39 Age Group.  Sigh the only downfall is that it was my last triathlon of a spectacular triathlon season where I exceeded my expectation.

The Race Report! – Finishing Time – 01:17:40 – 31/125 Overall. 

WP_20131019_003

This was just a sprint so I didn’t really do much preparation and it really showed come race day.  Saturday I got my packet and we got a cool little backpack and some usual swag.  I’m a swag whore, I won’t lie.  Then I saw the 2 transition bags and started putting my gear (minus wetsuit) into each bag as I needed.  I figured I’d just put my wetsuit in the T1 bag in the morning before leaving (fatal mistake).  I felt good about it all I had everything in their proper bag and confident in my game plan for race day.  I wanted to have fun and enjoy the last race of my triathlon season.  Got to sleep at a decent hour and got a pretty good nights sleep.  Alarm goes off, I had a few scoops of PB&Co Maple Peanut Butter and got the 2 transition bags in the car along with my bike on the rack.  I had the final thought of just bringing my usual transition bag just incase.  It was cold and foggy coming into Oceanside and didn’t think anything of it really since I’m a big guy and produce a lot of heat once I get moving.  Checked my T2 that I left overnight and everything looked great.  Rode down to T1 and got all checked in and racked the bike and as I’m pulling everything out I realize I forgot my wetsuit!  I accepted the fact that I had to swim this in my shorts and tri-top and then it donned on me that I had my Lava Pants from Xterra in my regular bag that I use for the pool, but it was back in my car which was only a mile from the start.  But when you might not make it back in time to T1 before it closes it puts a certain dash in your step.   So on the return run I did this in my shorts and tri-top with bare feet since I left everything in my car since I couldn’t put them in my dry clothes bag.  Thankfully I made it back to T1 right as they were closing and they let me grab my cap and goggles.  I should note that I asked a USAT Official if they were legal to use and they said yes.  I was saved, to not have to kick through the race.  As the waves started the fog started to come in really heavy and they delayed the start because of visibility was maybe 10-15 feet in front of you.  We couldn’t see past the first buoy, and during this wait the cold really started to get to all of us.

The Swim! Swim Time 6:51 :52 /100M 11/125 Overall

1000505_524997070920408_827528785_n

The initial shock of getting in the water was rough so I started to swim and instantly got used to the water temp.  I was happy and warm, and kept thinking just keep moving to stay warm.   Then the gun goes off and we are outta there.  I stupidly started towards the back of the pack fully knowing that I’m going to swim over some of them.  I really focused on long powerful strokes with the high elbow catch position and felt really calm through most of the swim.  I found a solid pair of feet to draft off of which was nice for a change.  Every time I tapped his feet he kept speeding up which was good till the first turn around.  Since everyone was still somewhat in a pack I didn’t want to go too fast out of the gates.  After we turned the first buoy I turned up the jets a bit and moved through the ranks.  I paid attention to not wanting to use too much energy (at this point I realized I forgot my APX in the fridge) since I didn’t have anything in the system and nothing to drink on the bike (Fat stores don’t fail me now).  Out of the water in 6:51.. Looking back I probably spent a good 5-10 seconds making my way through the start and pack.  Since all the swim times started at the same time I need to start these things at the front of the pack.  I’m wasting too much time getting through everyone when I’m much faster than they are. 

The Bike! Bike Time – 39:23 18.94 mi/hr (20Mi/Hr Goal). 22/125

I had a solid transition to the bike.  The only different thing was that I had to put my lava pants in the T1 bag.  As I was running out with my bike I realized I forgot rubber bands for my shoes!  This wouldn’t usually be a problem except I couldn’t feel my feet it was so cold.  I spent another 5-10 seconds getting that first foot on top of the shoe and on my way.  Getting out was a bit rough with some speed bumps here and some sharp turns here and there but once we hit the 76 things really started to go well.  The course got straight and I could deal with the fog, but hit a false flat (I should say downhill) because what seemed like I should have been coasting it got a bit harder to pedal and I was slowing down.  Since downshifting a couple gears to pickup my cadence hit a solid pace of about 17-18 MPH which for me was slow but I couldn’t feel my feet and it felt like I was pedaling with stubs like a pirate.  As the sun started to appear as we went east I could start feeling my legs and feet again and I was able to pickup the pace to 22-24MPH which felt solid throughout the whole bike portion.  I slowed down a bit more than usual coming down the last bike straight way cause the road sucked and didn’t want to get a flat in the last straight way (I know my back tire needs to be replaced, but I didn’t want to do it on race day).  Nailed my dismount with my shoes still clipped in and I heard a crowd support say I was like a flying gorilla (I laughed inside).  Foggy again and feet where cold I finally hit a GU and some water, and hit the run!  Overall

The Run! Run Time – 28:37 9:13 min/mile. 74/125 Overall.

Here it is, my weakest part of triathlon.  Coming off the bike my feet were frozen and my calves started to cramp a bit right off the bike (realized I forgot my salt sticks) but the legs still felt good and I really focused on keeping my head up and not over striding.  I was cruising at a 9:15 min/mil pace and I felt really good about it, my head was up my ankle on my left side wasn’t going beyond my knee (at least when I checked).  As I was running I noticed that Marc was coming down the hill behind me (I thought he would have beat me out of the swim and the bike, he’s a small guy and fast), my 8 minute dinged and I walked about 30 seconds instead of the 1 minute.  I felt good about things why should I stop it’s only a 5K.  Then we started to hit some up hills at the pier and going up another hill down the street which slowed my pace a bit but over all I felt really good.  I was still cruising a 9:35 pace thanks to that 30 second walk bit which I shouldn’t have done.  Down the final stretch Marc finally passed me and I picked up the pace to a 9:12 min/mil and got across the finish line.  Little did I know that Andy Potts was the one giving me my medal which was really cool!

The Wrap up! – Great Race!

WP_20131020_003Once across the finish line I felt great. Ian Kelly happened to see me coming across telling me that it was a strong finish (I didn’t know my time yet) which was really cool. I still had plenty of gas in the tank and wondered that I should have done the International Distance but who cares I felt great I had fun and I made costly mistakes that probably contributed to a combined 5 minutes tacked to my time.  It was great to see some friends racing and meet Marc who I know through a mutual friend at work (we spoke on Facebook and both belong to the Tri Club) so it was cool to meet him and his son.  Also met a few other guys like Randy who ripped his shorts on the bike the poor guy.  I have to say that everyone I have met through the triathlon community has been awesome!  Finally I got my time print out and sure enough I had gotten 1st Place in Clydesdale but the best part was I felt great.   The LifeTime Tri Oceanside race was fun, it was fast, and it really was well put on.  I can’t wait to do it next year.  

Leave a Reply

