Mission Bay Tri – 1st Place Overall–Relays!

What started as a reply to an e-mail to a fellow Tri Clubber turned into some swaps for members from injuries but we got a team together and met in person for the first time the Saturday before the event.  Come race day we all had great a great leg and killed it as the first relay team across the finish line.  Jeff who was the runner really brought home the gold sort to speak passing the only other relay team out of the blocks since I came in 2nd with the swim by about 30 seconds and Chris held down the bike portion with about the same 30 seconds behind the other team.  I think we’re going to stick together for the Koz Events next season so watch out San Diego “The Good, The Bad, and the …” are sticking around.  Our total time was 3 seconds over 1 hour at 1:00:03.   Congrats guys on an awesome race and great podium finish!

Lately the blog has been about training and about race results because well, that’s been what’s happening on the front lines.  Mentally it’s been an exhausting past few weeks!  With losing 100lbs adjusting mentally is much more difficult than adjusting physically.  It’s still hard to kick the fat guy mentality in how you view yourself.  You still have the access skin and you don’t take the easy way out through surgery so that just makes it a little bit harder.   I don’t let that keep me down though, there is no going back there is only pushing forward.  My body will adjust the way it needs to and I need to have faith in that.

I also made the choice this week to do 1 out of 3 Full Ironman’s before the end of 2015!  Nov 2014 is Ironman AZ which is my goal if I can be quick enough with my registration when it opens.  If not then it will be Ironman Coeur d’Alene or Ironman Wisconsin.  This was a big commitment for me.  I realize that the distance is one of the most demanding distances in the world and a true test of endurance.  I will need at least a year of prepping for the distance alone, but the hardest part will be preparing mentally.  Thankfully I have a year to prepare myself and I have a 70.3 coming up in March so 1 step at a time.

I had an interesting encounter with someone at the local 24 Hour Fitness who noticed my picture on their Facebook page (Yes I put it there) saying don’t let anyone tell you that you can’t do something.  So he said “Clydesdale doesn’t count as a division and just cause I took first doesn’t mean anything.”  I was a little taken back by his boldness and then I asked if he was a triathlete, he replied “I did a sprint distance a few years ago and didn’t like it.”  So I said then what makes you think that Clydesdale doesn’t count as a division?  He replied, “because that’s a fat person division.”   I said well are you a professional at anything?  He said, “No!”  So I said I guess you don’t mean anything either.   All I could do really is laugh at the ignorance of someone completely random person.  Yeah there are those who think that the Clydesdale/Athena Divisions don’t mean anything and there is a stigma that it’s for fat people because it’s governed by weight and not age.  But lets get 1 thing clear.  Those same people went out and raced the same course that the others did and they did their best.  I’ve been committed to showing people that just because you’re overweight doesn’t mean you can’t accomplish what you want to do.  That includes losing the weight to achieve it.

Been getting asked about the love life with everything going on as well.  My response has been what love life?  It’s hard to meet someone when your life lately has been training and being committed to something that was once a dream to have enough confidence to finally say “I can do that”.  So my mentality is back to, if it happens it happens.   Right now it ain’t happening so on with life.

2 thoughts on “Mission Bay Tri – 1st Place Overall–Relays!”

Leave a Reply

