First Place At TriRock San Diego Clydesdale.

V__F6D8

This race was my “A” race of the season and back in June I bumped it up from the Sprint to the Olympic distance.  Before the distance change I told myself that this race will be my entry into a more competitive aspect of the sport called “Triathlon”.  I told myself that if I trained and put in the effort that I could get on the podium.  Back in June after I signed up for the 70.3 Oceanside in March I increased my TriRock distance to Olympic and told myself I’ll use it as a gauge for how I will do for the 70.3.  The last couple weeks of training I’ve been congested and sick with a respiratory infection of some kind and still a bit congested and wasn’t feeling 100%.  But my goal was top 5 and a top 3 “podium” finish would be nice but I just wanted top 3.  When I checked the results all I saw was 1 out of 15, I had gotten first in a my first Olympic distance race and a race I thought went like crap!  As of 3:38PM in the afternoon I still can’t believe it.  My family came down to cheer me on which helped add to the pressure (I put that on myself btw.)  My mom was just happy I was doing it since triathlon has become a bit of a passion.  My family was super excited to be there and cheer me on.  Jojo came down as well to cheer me and our friend Diane who raced the Sprint distance with Team Challenge.  Diane killed her race and placed 2nd in her age group.

It’s been a long 3 months and I’m super happy it paid off with the top spot.  What really separated this race from the past is that I was I got some coaching through TriDot and I joined the Tri Club of San Diego (TCSD).  TriDot developed a custom training plan for me and we adjusted it every 4 weeks.  I had made the commitment to triathlon and being more competitive in the sport.  I enjoy it and while at times the training can suck and you want to just take a day off, you push through it.  Joining TCSD was something I should have done years ago when I did my first triathlon.  There are workouts every week in some type of sport that are complete free and the people are awesome and always willing to help one another.  Now some people will say I caught the tri bug, I like to say I finally embraced it and believed that it was something I can be good at.

The race report will be coming soon.

Leave a Reply

