A New Journey, The Beginning.

I’ve had several friends tell me I should start a blog based on my lifestyle change from a local drinker and socialite among San Diego’s Pacific Beach to someone who’s passionate about fitness and pushing yourself to achieve what you want.  I get asked all the time what happened, what caused you to change your life?  The answer is simple, yet complicated and emotional.   You always hear the word “Transformation” and most people immediately think it’s your weight loss because that’s what everyone “See’s”.  Well this is a story of not just someone who has lost over 60lbs and dropping but someone who has changed their very lifestyle.  I am an inspiration and this is my story!

482889_10151606063338274_1497541453_n
March 2008 to April 2013

It all started back in 2007 now that I think about it.  I was in love with a woman and I didn’t really make my feelings known to her when we were out.   We had fun together but inside I didn’t feel that I was good enough.  I didn’t feel that I looked good enough and I wasn’t confident in myself.  I was pushing 320lbs my waist was 50” and I didn’t feel that she found me attractive no matter what she said.  Well one day came where she found someone else and we stopped our budding relationship as I call it.  After that I ballooned up to almost 380lbs with a waist of almost 60” my body fat was over 40% and I just didn’t care.  Now do I blame losing her to my weight gain?  Not at all I was already on the way up anyways with my drinking every weekend lifestyle and partying lifestyle.   Finally, one day I woke up and I really didn’t like myself in the mirror.  I’ve always had a gym membership to 24 hour and I just never used it.  Well I finally started going and started seeing some results which always motivates people and myself.  I joined nutrisystem cause I couldn’t cook and I didn’t know a thing about eating healthy.  I told myself I was going to do a half marathon and I promptly signed up for the Carlsbad Half Marathon that January.  Over the course of the next few months I would slim all the way down to 246lbs with a waist of 40” and a body fat was down to 23%.  I completed the half marathon in 3:21:00 Minutes.  But it’s like they all say that losing weight is the easiest part.  I lost the weight to feel better about myself and gain confidence but I didn’t stop the drinking and partying it only increased it.  So the next couple of years was a roller coaster of weight loss and gain. I did my first sprint triathlon in 2010 and had a blast.

In the summer of 2011 I was up at 330lbs with a waist of 48” and I don’t even know what my body fat % was I didn’t want to know.  I had made a physical transformation but the mental transformation was never there. I was still out drinking every weekend just to feel good about myself and I knew why.  I had failed, I had gotten fat again and I had lost my confidence in myself.  Drinking washed that away and I was always a pretty happy drunk to be around.  Even after 2 DUI’s I was still doing it, I knew it was the wrong thing to do but I did it anyways and I don’t blame anyone else but myself.  I made those choices no one forced me to do any of it.  Everyone knew me as “Big Chris” cause I was huge.  So I started getting back into the gym again casually to help balance things out cause I knew I was getting bigger.  Then after coming back from a trip to Japan I decided to make the transformation.  I had gone out one Sunday and I woke up Monday not knowing how I got home (thankfully I didn’t drive since I live close to the bars around Pacific Beach) not knowing how I spent almost 300 bucks a weekend and how did I end up with all these scrapes on the arms and legs.  That week I stopped going out drinking looked at getting into the gym on a more active level like every day Monday through Sunday.  I had ordered my meals from Bistro MD since my friend had recommended them.  They were pretty tasty and I still hadn’t learned a thing about cooking or eating healthy.  During that time I happened to start dating again and I had signed up for another triathlon but this time it was a relay where I did the swim and my friends did the bike and the run.  It felt good to be competing in something again.  Then that December I did the Rock N Roll Half Marathon in Las Vegas with my friend Joanne.  We trained every week for it and I felt really good about it.  I finished it in 3:07:00 which was still a personal best for me but at mile 9 I started to cramp up and I couldn’t really recover so the last 3 miles was walked.  Now in December my waist was down to a 40” I weight 285lbs and my body fat was 23% but yet I still felt fat in fact I feel fat while I write this blog for the first time.  I was still getting the Bistro MD meals, I had stopped drinking over the weekends people are telling me how great I look and how proud of me they are.  I’ve started my transformation path.  Currently on April 26th, 2013 I’m 268lbs my waist is 38” and my body fat is 20%

I’m going to try to update this blog once a week with the highs and the lows of this change cause it’s not as easy as it might appear.

3 thoughts on “A New Journey, The Beginning.”

Leave a Reply

